The Early Characters

CD Cover The Early Characters
The Early Characters is a collection of rare and unreleased recordings from band's teenage days,through their first studio recordings, the unreleased 1987 Chip Douglas produced album, as well as live cuts,out takes, famous friends and more!

Click on the blue song titles to hear song.

  1. I Need You Tonight
  2. I Just Want You
  3. Miss America
  4. This Is Goodbye
  5. Troubled Times
  6. Maryann
  7. Three Blocks Away
  8. Puppet On A String
  9. Your Cover Is Blown
  10. Siobhan
  11. Until We Meet Again
  12. Soldier Of Love (from 1982 in Danny's basement.)The first recording ever of The Characters
  13. Maryann 1985
  14. This Is Goodbye 1985
  15. Siobhan 1986 version
  16. Heart and Soul live with Micky Dolenz and Peter Tork 1987
  17. Tulane live with Peter Tork 1988
  18. For Pete's Sake live with Peter Tork 1988
  19. Hippy Hippy Shake live with Davy Jones 1988
  20. One More Chance live at The Roxy
  21. Rodney on the Roq
  22. Characters Hotline message
  23. Door Into Summer (acoustic)
Characters T-Shirts
100% cotton pre-shrunk Hanes Beefy- T.
Avaiable at The Characters live shows!

Characters T-shirt

Characters T-shirt

Characters T-shirt

Characters T-shirt

$20 by mail for color shirt $15 for logo shirt .  Available in Small,Medium Large and Extra-Large and XXL. Please email before ordering..
Avaiable at The Characters live shows for $15 for color shirts $10 for logo shirt.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Santa's Got A GTO - Rodney on the ROQ's Favorite Christmas Tunes

The Characters appear on Rodney Bingenheimer's compilation CD on Dionysus Records
"Santa's Got A GTO - Rodney on the ROQ'S Favorite Christmas Tunes."

The Characters' track, "The Characters visit Rodney," is from their 1986 Christmas tape.
The Characters also appear on the "The Best of Rodney on the ROQ" compilation - with "This Is Goodbye" produced by Chip Douglas

Track listing:

  1. Ramonas "Santa's Got A GTO"
  2. Ride "Like A Snowflake"
  3. froSTed W/ Jane Weidlin "Frosty the Snowman"
  4. Wondermints "Ski Party"
  5. Home Grown "Christmas Crush"
  6. The Diaboliks "Santa's Sack"
  7. Pencil Test "Runaway Christmas"
  8. Nina Hagen " Mary X-Mas"
  9. Boss Martians "Christmas Time"
  10. Redd Kross "Super Sunny Christmas"
  11. Geolyn "Deck the Halls"
  12. Methadone Cocktail "I Don't Believe in Santa"
  13. Jigsaw Seen "God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen"
  14. Sleepington "I'll Be Home for Christmas"
  15. Velouria " Til Next hanukkah"
  16. Wednesday Week "Christmas Here"
  17. Sugarfree "Last Christmas"
  18. Yid Kids "Santa Dosn't Come to Little Jewish Children's Houses"
  19. Cranes "The Christmas Angel"
  20. Olivia Barash "Silent Night"
  21. The Characters With Rodney Bingenheimer "The Characters Visit Rodney"

Splitting Hares CD cover Splitting Hares
A compilation CD from Poptown Records which includes The Characters song "Last of a Dyin' Breed."
All proceeds from the album go to benefit PETA, People for Ethical Treatment of Animals.

Track listing:

  1. "Let It Go" Enuff Z' Nuff
  2. "Killing Time" Widowmaker
  3. "Daddy's Farm" Roxx Gang
  4. "Too Much Heroin" Richie Scarlet
  5. "Homework" Lovemaker
  6. "Pick Me" Young & Fabulous
  7. "UH Oh" The Zeros
  8. "You Threw Me Away" Trash Brats
  9. "Tragedy" Pin*Ups
  10. "Gypsy's Lantern" Junebug
  11. "Ill Hearted" Laughing Sam's Breakdown
  12. "Not Too Late" Sun Kings
  13. "Last of a Dyin' Breed" The Characters

The Best Of Rodney On The ROQ
The Best of Rodney on the ROQ
Rodney Bingenhiemer's compilation includes The Characters This Is Goodbye Produced by Chip Douglas

  • This Could Be The Night with Henry Dilts and Harry Nilsson from Best Of Rodney On The ROQ

    From Rhino Records

    You'll also find The Characters on "The Best of Rodney on the ROQ", a compilation by legendary Los Angeles DJ Rodney Bingenheimer,
    and "Stuff This In You Stocking", a Christmas compilation.

    Stuff This In Your Stocking Stuff This In Your Stocking
    Skyclad Records VEEBL68
    The Characters
    "Home For Christmas" (lyrics)

    HELLO DISASTER: "I'll Be Home For Christmas"
    FRENCH LEMON SANTAS: "Merry Xmas Everybody!"
    THE ELECTRIC SHOES: "It's Christmas (And I Love You)"
    THE LEONARDS: "Father Christmas"
    DIRTY DOGS: "White Christmas"
    PINK SLIP DADDY: "Santa Claus"
    RUSS TOLMAN & THE NORTH POLE MEN: "Happy Birthday"

    HUMAN DRAMA: "I Believe in Father Christmas"
    THE STERILLES: "I Got A Lot of Toys For Christmas"
    SKY SAXON/FIREWALL: "Christmas in the Courtroom"
    THE JIGSAW SEEN: "God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen"
    L-STATUS: "Holiday Cheer"
    THE CHARACTERS: "Home For Christmas"

    Album Compilation/Executive Producer: Frank Beeson/Guardian Angel: Dave Hall

    If you have trouble finding these CDs, email The Characters for info.